It took me at least a month after Haruhi has finished to watch ep5, but I’m glad somebody (Kurz, thanks) prodded me to do so after him asking me what I despise so much about Haruhi. I’m pretty glad I watched it as well, because it seems I’m pretty much going more lenient on her (I hope I’ll do the same with NHK ni Youkoso!). I guess right now, I like it quite a bit, but I still don’t think why people tout it as the best anime of all time. It’s pretty mediocre and unmoving compared to Honey and Clover, for example. I had teary-eyes as early as ep4 or ep5 in that series, whereas I simply liked the flow of the story in Haruhi. The story is just quite mediocre, really, and despite Honey and Clover not having easter eggs, another instance of a big-breasted Mikuru, excellent animation or technobabble, I’d say that it moved me infinitely more than Haruhi S. probably will.

It just doesn’t deserve its hype: I’m going to argue that Honey and Clover does, and for all its worth it didn’t even have its own forum in AnimeSuki (not that I want it to have one), that Haruhi S. did. Talking all about science and physics (meh) and whatnot, Haruhi S. possesses that detachment from the world which I don’t enjoy. It lacks that humanity, I guess; it lacks the skill to invite empathy from me. I guess having a lead like Haruhi makes it all the more difficult for me to feel for its characters, although Kyon right now is a pretty welcome sight.

It’s all a matter of perspective, in the end. I’d rather, however, watch decent people live life in all its glory and splendor, in all its defilement and impurity – in all its foibles and humanity than some science-fiction series which just doesn’t get me deep in the core. It may have superficially a lot of information, but deep within it simply is hollow (still).

I may rescind my comments on Haruhi later on, but I think this show can never par to the greatness of Honey and Clover. Honey and Clover is both a simple story and a potent psychological analysis; it does not dissimulate under the depth of technobabble, but it infinitely is more relevant, in both real life and interpersonal relations.

