Whenever you lie down in your bed, mean to sleep only for a short while, and get up some six hours later, it’s a sign that you’re so damn tired. For the record, I’ve only slept for some three hours yesterday and four hours two days ago and did a humongous requirement yesterday; that’s perhaps why the only thing I can post about is my take on FLAG‘s popularity. Anyway, having that much-needed rest, let’s jump back to anime, shall we?

***

I noticed that after the spring renaissance of anime (come on, they aired 50 series!), it was followed by a summer that was mediocre at best (in general). Honestly speaking, a lot of would put Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu on top of Tsuyokiss ~ CoolxSweet or Binbou Shimai Monogatari, among the two anime I’ve noticed to have been discussed and dissected often. Haruhi Suzumiya was simply a wave of popular opinion, excellent animation, character depth, and a new take on stereotypes that was well-received by many; its trump card, however, in my opinion, was its animation. The story wasn’t anything to dance about: it simply defaced common notion and turned it around on itself, which has been done already by some other anime as well (in a much better way, I may add). The animation, however, was among the best. KyoAni definitely outperformed itself, and Hirano Aya as Haruhi Suzumiya, if not for the extremely apt speaking voice, pwnt as Haruhi’s singing voice. I mean, come on – who seriously didn’t fall in love with either Bouken Desho Desho, Hare Hare Yukai, or God Knows? I mean I disliked the show, but I know good voices when I hear them. Hirano Aya goes beyond good for me, and she has been the one who has made the show tolerable to watch, at least for the first four episodes. Everytime Haruhi opens to Bouken Desho Desho, hate is tempered with love for that girl’s voice.

Then again, Haruhi’s the type of anime that only come once in a while; add to that greats like Black Lagoon, RAY the Animation, and Ouran High School Host Club, and you definitely have a successful season. It also helped that the choices of the spring season were myriad; and because the anime producers, etc. needed to compete with one another to grab a spot in the ratings that’s at least profitable, they also at least tried to produce quality work because of their competition.

Honestly, this time around, the only anime I see that’s really worth watching is Honey and Clover II. Those who saw the first season know how awesome this anime is, and it is one of them. Other than that, there’s probably Kemonozume (forbidden love is always majestic and FTW) but no headturners like spring, really.

Next time, I’m using OpenOffice or FireFox to write up my articles. It’s pretty hard in Opera when you have to type the tags still. Also, a big thank you very much to NoName. I realized how much I lacked sleep.

