I don't like The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. There, I've said it. However, before going all-out on bashing me, kindly take note of why I think so. (Of course all perception is taste-based, but I just can't see all the hype about this series.)

First, no matter how hard I try to get the puns or whatnot, I never could laugh at this show; yet a lot of people have dubbed it a comedy. I don't know what REALLY makes it funny: is it Kyon's dry sarcasm, Haruhi's odious attitude, or Mikuru's easily-fondled big breasts? I didn't even laugh at all for the most part of the three episodes I've had seen, and the humor, whenever it seems to appear, seems too contrived for my own taste.

(Insert snide remark by Haruhiists here that would pertain to me 'not getting it.')

I get it, alright. In fact, even with rewatching the first two episodes, I get it that I don't find this show as funny.

Second, I don't find Haruhi's abuse of people or bitchiness anywhere near the level of pleasant. Perhaps a lot like this, but I'd just like to say I'm more of a person than a sadist. I don't see fun in abusing other people, particularly defenseless and weak types like Mikuru. If a lot of people find it funny, I guess it would be best for me to quote a good post that would also capture what I think people feel about these occurrences.

philip72: I feel like a rubbernecker at a train wreck, […] but I can't help but want to watch.

I don't want to watch Mikuru or any of the other leads get abused. I also can't see why people like Haruhi Suzumiya (the person) so much – I sincerely think she's nothing more than a deified bitch. Would you sincerely want to make friends with such a thoughtless person as her? Care to kill yourself instead?

(Insert snide remark by Haruhiists that would pertain to me 'not watching the entire thing to get it.')

I, for one, do not think I would need to watch all of Haruhi Suzumiya to know where this show is going towards. This is a comedy show that has gone wrong for me, and what's worse, the lead isn't anywhere near likable, IMO.

What I find well-made about the show, however, is its OP. I must have played Bouken Desho Desho for five straight hours while dancing to its tune, and I find that I love it terribly. The music concatenates the tone of the song that makes it good playing whenever one is feeling down. When one is feeling up, this only serves to heighten the happiness or joy felt.

Next, I find the animation unique, stylish, and elegant. My main point, however, is that plot for me is simply more important than the animation, and within the first three episodes, I couldn't even find much as a sign of it. It was all abuse or extortion by Haruhi, and some dry sarcasm of Kyon. I did not find any of those funny at all, but because I love romances, I'm going to plod on and perhaps see a little character development out of this Haruhi Suzumiya.

So, no – I don't find this show terrible just yet; in fact, I find it mildly amusing, yet far and away from other anime in terms of a great plot and depth. I do think the character interactions are slowly picking up, and I would rather see proper development of a romance between either Mikuru or Yuki for Kyon.

I can see people talking about the hints, and I've referred to other people more open to Haruhi S. than I am (Zapp, thanks) so in the end I hope I can find more merit with this series than disappointment that I have now. πŸ™‚

