Despite my skepticism and criticism about this show, I only realized now that it has great potential to be intellectual fodder, or mindfood, that is. Somehow, I have a gut feeling that I'll probably like this show, but I also probably won't declare it to be the best of all time. I'm pretty thankful for some obnoxious Haruhiists and a few good ones, like Zappster and Lost(thank you, men, for sticking with me); I am slowly starting to see the show's merit and originality, though I still can't say much about its plot and definitely can't say anything about its comedy.

Think of this show as among the two masterpieces of Faulkner: The Sound and the Fury and As I Lay Dying. The narrative chronology is shot to hell, however, both the Sound and the Fury and As I Lay Dying belong to the world's top 100 books of the 20th century. (I know, I'm a bookworm and Faulkner fanatic, but this will transmit a point, believe me.) Despite the difficulty accompanying the reading of these books (surely not the same difficulty figuring out Haruhi Suzumiya), the tactic of understanding more about these books is similar when trying to understand Haruhi Suzumiya: re-reading for these two books, and rewatching Haruhi Suzumiya.

However, there should be at least three viewings with the anime, which is what I'm doing right now so as to slowly accept the shortcomings of the characters and how seemingly cardboard they are for the first four episodes. But there's a general reason for why there should be at least three viewings of Haruhi Suzumiya as an anime. I even think people should wait for it to finish before watching it, but who am I to say so?

Well, on to the reasons why there should be at least three viewings.

(1) The first viewing should see Haruhi Suzumiya as an episodic anime, just as one reads a single chapter (of a character in The Sound and the Fury or As I Lay Dying). Absorb everything you can about that chapter, for the books, and for the anime, the episode. Do not try relating the episodes to the other episodes yet: this will probably only cause confusion for the most part. Take what you can, and then put it at the back of your mind, then proceed with the next episode. View each succeeding episode the same way, and with the end of it all, take a rest. This will be important for the second viewing of the show, or the second reading of the books.

(2) Read as the narrator or narrators direct you, or, for Haruhi Suzumiya, watch according to Kyon's narrative. The linking of events will start here, and more will be revealed about the narrator's (or author's) true nature as the story proceeds. This will be important in detecting the biases and the nuances of the story: with Faulkner's books it's the streams-of-consciousness found with the characters; with Haruhi Suzumiya it's the episode shuffling according to Kyon. More will also be revealed about the main character through the eyes of its narrators: for the Sound and the Fury a lot is said about Caddy Compson as well as the narrators themselves; for Haruhi Suzumiya a lot is said about Kyon and Haruhi herself.

(3) This is when you watch the show chronologically, or try reading the book in its chronological order. By then, the final pieces of the puzzle will have been solved, and your understanding with the novels or the series will be added to with insight and a better correlation with the events and the characters. By then, you'll know why they act like they act – and by then, despite the formidable challenge, you'd have figured most things out. Reward yourself.

I did this to understand The Sound and the Fury, and albeit with a lesser degree of mental calisthenics, this will also probably work with Haruhi Suzumiya. With the four episodes I've experimented on this, and they've worked pretty well – although a lot of the jigsaw puzzle is still apocryphal, my insight to this show has been added upon.

You see, even if I don't like this show THAT much I can still write well about it. 😉

