To tell the truth, I wanted to watch School Rumble about a year ago. If it's a perennial top 10 on AniDB, it must at least be good. I started watching it about two days ago, and right now I have watched all of the second season (so far) and all of the OVAs. I'm still procuring the first season, however.

SR is a great show – it's a great comedy, but for me it has also been a melancholic anime despite its gags and funnies because Yakumo can't end up with Harima. (Right now, in the manga, Harima and Eri are being developed, but man … it's just depressing.)

After being depressed for more than a day I have once more awakened to my senses and realized that it wasn't meant to be, although I liked it very much.

Don't mistake me – I was and still am all for the Onigiri faction. However, as sad as that may be that Onigiri is slowly fading to nothingness, there are a couple of cogent reasons why Onigiri can't happen.

First, Harima has no interest in Yakumo. He's too selfish – I stand corrected for my other posts – in his love for Tenma that he can't let her be free. With otacu's link, however, this will rumble — the manga *is* getting to an important point, but I don't want to spoil myself too much.

Second, even if Yakumo did have an interest in Harima, again, he's too selfish to appreciate both her beauty and her finesse. He's too enshrouded in his own world of Tenma, which, although it sucks for Riceballers, is true.

If Yakumo is more or less as perceptive as Akira, she would have perceived that (I've only seen the OVAs and the second season so far) Harima likes Tenma, and as much as that hurts her if it does – is stifled by her because she is selfless for her sister, and to some extent, Harima.

'If you truly love them – you let them go.'

If in self-denial and obfuscation Yakumo believes that she can let him be free, as painful as it is, she does and says this. Or maybe I'm just reading too much into her character and she really doesn't give a damn about a relationship with Harima. All's fine for her.

I have to rearrive at reality. Unless if in that critical point in the manga right now he really decides to let Tenma go, I hopes he realize how much Yakumo has done for him and doesn't call her as Imouto-san but recognizes her as Yakumo, not shadowing Tenma but knowing her as as herself.

This doesn't makes it easier that Yakumo is incommunicative – as I said in some posts in some other forum, she doesn't convey the messages she wants to convey well, and she may well be in denial that she couldn't even admit that she has feelings beyond admiration for Harima, if she does.

I'll be pretty sad if the story doesn't shift that way, but most likely it wouldn't, seeing how Jin builds Harima up with Eri. Perhaps Yakumo will be alone forever … I hope that in the future that can change, because I really think that Yakumo is for Harima. I believe that Yakumo can temper his idiotic side with that charm and intelligence, and I believe that Harima can let her experience what true happiness is – putting her first above all and realize that love is not selfish. At all.

I believe Harima can discover tranquility with Yakumo, and Yakumo will perhaps develop a better view of the world with Harima. But that's what I believe.

Other people believe otherwise – but that's them.

It was a post somewhere out there by me, but I stick with my Riceball pairing. It may fade away, it may disappear into thin air, but believe me – it will be among the greatest romances in anime if that comes to life, I mean a romance between Yakumo and Harima, IMO.

I think and hope it will come to life. Really.

